Be Present

Wow. I just had the craziest experience. I suppose you could say I’m distracted, focusing on one too many things, or scatterbrained?? “Eeep,” is all I have to say–regardless of whatever the reason/cause was.

I had been chatting on the phone with my sister and realized it was almost 8pm, so I quickly ended the conversation and jumped in my car to go to the gym. I had changed into my gym clothes hours earlier, but ended up getting the call…

I suppose I was distracted by my neighbor blasting his Christian Rock music in his garage while I was getting in my car, but as I drove along the road to my gym…and only when getting ready to turn in to the parking lot…I realized…I was wearing flip flops. :-/

Oy vey.

Really? I had NO IDEA whatsoever from the point of grabbing my water bottle and glasses…that I was wearing flip flops. Hmm. Scary, eh? Talk about being everywhere but THERE in the moment. Spooooooky. My brain was, uh…distracted? Dunno. It still creeps me out to think about it. I mean…what if I hadn’t even been wearing clothes and walked out of my house? 😮

I suppose that’s a far reach…but you get my point.

“I don’t think we realize just how fast we go until you stop for a minute and realize just how loud and how hectic your life is, and how easily distracted you can get.” –Meg Ryan

I’m living proof of that quote tonight. Embarrassingly enough.

P.S. And to answer your question if you’re wondering…I didn’t end up going back to the gym. I cleaned out my car instead. 😀

August 13, 2014. Tags: , , , , , , , . High Desert Life.

One Comment

  1. Osea replied:

    Who knew you couldn’t work out in flip-flops?? J

    Hey, hey, ol’ friend!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

