Self-torture

It’s 2011.  I know you know this.  And I have made many a resolution, OF COURSE! Because I am CT and that’s what I DO. I make resolutions and lots of ’em. Heh Heh. Usually at least 14 or so. No. Just jokin’.  Seven is my average. And I usually end up keeping about four or five of them. Not bad, eh?  🙂 I say, the more I make, the more I’ll keep. It’s an interesting strategy. Give it a go for yourself and let me know how it works out for you. 😀

So, I learned that I have a wheat allergy three years ago. WOW. Time freakin’ flies when I’m getting health diagnoses… I spent hundreds of dollars for all of this fancy allergy testing (blood/skin pricking/urine/breath/hair/cell) I’m just being a dork about half of the tests…but my point is that it was very in-depth testing. 🙂 And expensive and performed at an actual hospital. Because I *thought* I had an ALMOND allergy (when I nearly went into anaphylactic shock one night in Korea…all I could peg it to were some almonds I’d eaten). Well, to my dismay…sort of…I was informed that no, I didn’t (don’t) have an almond allergy but rather I’m allergic to PEANUTS and WHEAT. Sighhhhhhh. I don’t think any person (EVER) wants to be told s/he’s allergic to wheat. What does that mean for lil’ ol’ me?

I CANNOT EAT ANY OF THESE FOODS ANYMORE.  Please::::call in 1,000,000,000,000,000 people to sit and cry with me for a very long time.

  • Bagels
  • Biscuits
  • Bread
  • Bread crumbs
  • Breaded anything
  • Bread pudding
  • Cake
  • Cereal
  • Croissants
  • Cookies
  • Crackers
  • Croutons
  • Doughnuts
  • Dumplings
  • Flour
  • Flour tortillas
  • Fried vegetables
  • Graham crackers
  • Veggie burger buns
  • Smart Dogs!!! Whaaaa? Sucks. They use wheat gluten to make fake hot dogs…  😦
  • Ice cream cones
  • Macaroni
  • Melba toast
  • Muffins
  • Noodles
  • Pancakes ❗
  • Pasta
  • Pastries
  • Pie crusts
  • Pizza crust
  • Pretzels
  • Rolls
  • Spaghetti
  • Stuffing
  • Tabbouleh
  • Waffles ❗
  • …and now for some shockers…
  • Beer
  • Beverage mixes
  • Candy (but many candies are gluten-free, so I need to read labels)
  • Canned baked beans
  • Packaged cereals, even corn cereals
  • Commercially prepared broth
  • Commercially prepared chocolate milk
  • Commercially prepared soup
  • Custard
  • Fruit fillings
  • Gravy
  • Gum:!:
  • Ice cream
  • Non-dairy creamer
  • Potato chips
  • Pudding
  • Root beer
  • Syrups
  • Salad dressing
  • Soy sauce
  • Vegetables with commercially prepared sauces

What am I to do? I don’t like this one bit. I KNOW that I am passionate about living on LIVE foods and eating a large amount of RAW foods anyway but just KNOWING that all of those foods cause me harm makes me mad. And I feel deprived when I see certain things (e.g., cooookieeesss) that I can’t eat without lousy consequences.  And what happens to most people when they feel deprived?? Exactly. It makes people want __fill in the blank___ even more. Sooo, I need to do something about these deprivation feelings. I KNOW that I am blessed enough to live in the United States where there are soooo many wheat/gluten-free options for most if not all of those above-listed items but jeeeezzzz….I just wanna be normal. 😦

“There is only one real deprivation… and that is not to be able to give one’s gifts to those one loves most.”–Mary Sarton

:*(   Oh, that’s so moving, Mary. Brings tears to my eyes.

January 14, 2011. Tags: , , , , , . Health, Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. Melissa replied:

    Relax babe!!!

    Some of these things are ok to find a better solution, such a non-dairy half and half. You can get real organic half and half. Tastes yummy!!

    Smart dogs: real organic stuff.

    I would also say that I would never say the word NEVER, but extremely infrequently, and when it comes down to it, outside of obsessive binging out of fear of not having anything anymore, is actually rare. I mean how often does a person have root beer?

    Try this out babe: replace all of the stuff listed w/real food version, go gluten free on other stuff that you eat regularly, and add in three meals a day of small portioned food w/ fruit/ veggies/ healthy fat/ protein/ and a baby portion of carbohydrate. Three meals a day, small portions, real food… Kinda like when you are a kid. You will poop better, feel better, less bloat and heck you can have a bagel once a month. (Who wants them more than that.) the real food will help you loose weight and fill you up.

    Also remember the coconut cookies. You can add chocolate or fruit to that recipe! 🙂

    PS: also add some seeds or nuts to each meal! 🙂

  2. Colin replied:

    I’ve made a few things out of Gluten Free Baking Classics and they all turned out really well, you should give it a try if you’re so inclined.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

