No Expectations :=)

At my meditation follow-up on Saturday, the  group leader started talking about 5 additional things that a person should be aware of while practicing meditation and living life.

Honestly, I can’t exactly remember all of them (wha ha ha haaa) but I do remember ONE for sure:

Have no Expectations. Expectations kill our happiness. Duh. I know this already. But, a friendly reminder is always helpful, I *suppose.*  When I  think back to a time something I  ended up doing turned out to be a “shitty” experience, I ask myself, “Why did it become a shitty experience?”  Because *I*  had  EXPECTATIONS of certain things to  happen.

Yes, there are several definitions of the word, EXPECTATION. But for my purposes in this blog, I’m referring to EXPECTATION as “the degree of probability that something will occur” and focusing on that envisioned something…and then…when…it doesn’t happen…I feel lousy.

“Shitty” is relative. What’s a shitty experience to me may be fantastically, amazingly, wildly, brilliant to another person.  That’s why I am becoming more aware of expectations that I have about  people,  events that I attend,  places I visit, MOVIES I watch (ugh* Eclipse) etc.  It’s much easier said than done by me to go into a situation in a neutral space. Therefore, I have been reminding myself to not expect anything to happen…or: expect bad things to happen. 😀  Noooo. That’s terrible!

People often say, “Expect the worst…and be pleasantly surprised.” Yes. This makes sense. 100%.

Now the next step: Actually coming into a place where I am truly free from expectations. I am not sure if I am capable of going to a place like that now in my existence. So, I think I will try the advice above:  expect the worst and be pleasantly surprised.

“Life is so constructed, that the event does not, cannot, will not, match the expectation”– Charlotte Bronte

“I do my thing and you do yours. I am not in this world to live up to your expectations, and you are not in this world to live up to mine. You are you and I am I, and if by chance we find each other, then it is beautiful. If not, it can’t be helped.”–Gestalt Prayer

July 9, 2010. Tags: , . Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. Eric Bergman replied:

    I share your opinion about expectations, and it’s funny that you mention movies as a source of disappointment; that was actually one of the things that led me to believe in the fallacy of expectations. Between previews, friends, and sequels, many a movie has been a disappointment for me.

    And from that obvious example, it leads you to question some of the more important expectations in life.

    Good blog, I hope you can make this realization have a positive impact in your life.

  2. Osea replied:

    I hope your readership is large, girl, because you’re little offerings are right on. How can we get your blog advertised??

  3. Osea replied:

    . . .er “your”. . . yikes!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

