What About Me?

Ego. I love my ego. My ego keeps me safe. My ego enables me to know that I’m me and not you. 😀

Buuut, alas…my ego *sometimes* plays dirty, mean tricks on me. I’ve done enough inner work where I can usually catch myself when my ego takes control of the CT Show. 😀 (That’d be my show)

“What about MEEEEE?”  How many times have I said that in my  life? Well, I know I must have said it a billion times by the time I was 12 years old.  But, as I’ve aged and matured…I say it a lot less. 😀  Progress, not perfection!  😀

But I had a moment a few nights ago when I was with with a friend and an older Korean woman came up to us on the street and literally stopped dead in her tracks, stared at us for a few seconds and then set her gaze upon my friend as though she were the full moon basking in a dark sky…ahhhhh….what a lovely image, right?

Well, the way this lady was looking at her was as if she were looking at a golden, glimmery angel….flittering in the sky. Ahhhhh. Angel….Ahhhhh. And my friend and I were standing at a stop light waiting for our signal to cross the street to be OK’d. Anyway, I was watching this woman watch my friend when all of a sudden the woman came out of her,   “Oooh, ahhh, ohhhhh, poppin’ fresh dough” phase and said, (((in Korean, mind you))) “Beautiful. “Beautiful!!”    😀     And I looked at my friend who had a confused look on her face and I shook my friend’s shoulders and said, “You’re so pretty, baby!  “You’re so pretty!!!” And my friend smiled in a “Oh, thank God it’s a compliment” way,  but then I looked at the old Korean woman and wondered, “But…but, what about meeeeeee????”

Hahahahahaahah

Uh-huh!  “What about me??”

I had a “WHAT ABOUT ME?” moment only 15 hours after my meditation meeting when my  group leader had brought up that very thought. How many times in our lives do we ask, “Well, uh, what about *me*???”

And then this oh-so-famous quote:

“Ego has a voracious appetite, the more you feed it, the hungrier it gets.”— Nathaniel Bronner Jr.

July 1, 2010. Tags: , , . Korea 2010, Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. Nancy Lytle replied:

    Celeste, you should know by now, it’s not all about you – it’s all about ME! 🙂

    Good blog, by the way.

  2. Osea replied:

    Yes, great substance, CT. . .and humor–definitely a winning and powerful combo.

    Osea

    I’m subscribed. Postcard!

    Osea Nelson
    825 Big Horn Avenue
    Sheridan, WY 82801

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

