My Wrapping Paper

Ahhhh, I love shopping in Korea. I can usually find some amazing thing at a good price. Today I went to the $1 store to buy some plastic tubs to organize my SHTUFF. So, off I went–fully intending to wander up and down each one of the aisles ((even the pet care aisle…))just to see what they have and what sorts of things I could potentially buy.   😀

So. “What did you find?” you must be wondering!  heehee. I ended up buying some really cute wrapping paper. 3 thin rolls that are the brown paper style with some designs on them. Perfect for the “country-chic” wrapping job. 😀  Anyway, I got my plastic tubs and wrapping paper and started walking home.

Today was a glorious day in terms of weather. The SUN was actually out and I had missed him so much these past weeks. It has been dreary, dark, other world-ish, end-of-the-world-ish. 😛     I just can’t stand gray skies.  So, I was leisurely strolling the sidewalk amidst the hectic construction crews who are still building this city that I inhabit…mega multi-story apartment homes and business towers are popping up everywhere. So, even though it was a gorgeous day, I was deprived of seeing the sun for  most of my walk because of all the gi-normous buildings everywhere. Imagine metal saws grinding through metal (fill in the blank), cranes moving huge window panes, bulldozers and forklifts and noise, noise, noise.

But, the sun and the clouds and the blue sky made me happy. So, up I looked while I walked along the sidewalk…and then…all of a sudden I looked down at my $1 store bag and my heart stopped. NO!~!~~!!~  My wrapping paper!~!~!~~!~!  It wasn’t in my bag anymore!~!~!~!~!  SOMEONE HAD STOLEN IT WHILE I WAS STARING UP AT THE SKY!!!!!~!~~!!~!~!~!~I walked past so many construction men and so many groups of children walking home from school!  😦     Noooooo!     It must have been one of them!

And after my heart stopped I felt so sad that my “country-chic” wrapping paper was gone…until I swung my bag from back behind my body to in front of my body and realized it had simply slipped to the back of my shopping bag. No one stole it. It was there the whole time.  Who would want to steal my $1 wrapping paper, ANYWAY!?!?!?!?!?!?   Good grief!!!   I started busting up laughing on the side of the road…thinking about me….thinking that some dork had stolen my $1 wrapping paper. WHAHAHAHAHAHAHA  It was a good time.  And to think I was soooooo sad about my “stolen” wrapping paper. Ahhhhh, good times.

Just goes to show how attached to my $1 store items I become right after purchasing them. 😛

“Buying something on sale is a very special feeling.  In fact, the less I pay for something, the more it is worth to me.  I have a dress that I paid so little for that I am afraid to wear it.  I could spill something on it, and then how would I replace it for that amount of money?”  ~Rita Rudner     WHA HA HA HA HA HA HA

March 16, 2010. Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. Osea replied:

    Celeste, another great post. You could have been writing for “Friends”! (Great Rita Rudner quote, too hahaha.)

    Speaking of “bargain” items, Em buys 99% of her clothes at our thrift stores anymore. She gets some amazing buys. I don’t think she’ll go to one of those stores for her mother-of-the-groom dress, though. 🙂

    Love,
    Osea

    • grasshoppergrrl replied:

      Hahaha. Thanks for that, Osea! I know, the Rita Rudner quote was a gem to find! 😀

  2. Sher replied:

    HAHA…Only my sister…

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

